Bristol Intermediate Grand Prix rules and formats

Rules for 2017

The Intermediate Grand Prix (IGP) is open to all players, except those who have Premier Status, who enter any of the following tournaments -- the four 20 entry Lesters Trophy tournaments, the eight 10 tournaments, and the Intermediates Trophy.

All the tournaments are individual competitions in their own right. However, over the year, points will be accrued by all entrants based on their achievements in whichever of these events they enter.

1 will be levied from each of the entry fees of all the tournaments to cover the provision of year end prizes. Where players are eligible for both the OGP and the IGP the 1 levy will be split 50:50 between the OGP prize fund and the IGP prize fund. Otherwise the 1 levy will go to the OGP prize fund.
1 will also be levied for administration expenses. The remainder of the entry fee money goes on prizes for the individual tournaments.

The 20 Lesters Trophy events and the 10 tournaments will all be two flight straight knock-out affairs, provided there are at least seven entrants. All main flight matches will be to 7 points, except the main flight final, which will be to 11 points.

N.B: In all of the 20 and 10 knock-outs, players eliminated in their first match will be entered into a consolation flight, where matches will be to 5 points. These consolation flights will be subject to approximately 25% of the night's prize fund in the case of the 10 tournaments, and around 20% in the case of the 20 tournaments.

Should there be between four and six entrants, however, the format will change, with a round robin. All matches here will be to 7 points (if there are 4 players), or 5 points (if there are 5 or 6 players). Should the round robin finish with leaders having won the same number of matches, then each player's total points difference in the round robin will be the first level of tie-break. Should that fail to separate the players, then the results -- but not the scores -- of meetings of those players will decide; failing that, a short play-off will be ordered.
As from 2016, all matches in these tournaments (except the Intermediates Trophy) have been subject to clock rules, with each player having a time bank of one minute and thirty seconds times the match length. There will be a delay of twelve seconds before time banks start to be eroded.

NOTE: All the above events have associated with them an optional side pool. While these aspects of tournament night provide additional elements of entertainment, they have no bearing whatsoever on either the OGP or the IGP.

The 5 entry Intermediates Trophy will be a single flight knock-out tournament with matches played to 7 points.

The IGP scoring system

for knock-outs
20 event
10 event
and Int.
Win before

N.B: In the event of an odd number of entries to the main flight of the 20 or 10 events, it is possible that one player may gain entry to the consolation flight after losing his/her second match of the main flight. In which case that player would only benefit by his/her higher scoring flight.
for round robins
20 event
10 event
5- or 6-player
round robin
match win
round robin
match win
Round robin
win bonus

N.B: A round robin play-off win will not accrue any points, except for the round robin win bonus.
N.B: I G P BONUS POINTS: Any victory over a player from the current year's Bristol Premier League Division One or over a current World Backgammon Giant will earn the victor 20 bonus points, while a victory over any other player with Premier Status will earn the victor 10 bonus points.

A player's best seven tournament points performances throughout the year will count towards his/her final total, thus anyone entering more than seven of the tournaments will discard low point scores.
In the event of a tie on total points, there will be four levels of tie-break: (1) fewest tournaments entered in total during the OGP season; (2) highest percentage of wins in all IGP matches throughout the year; (3) results of any meetings of the players in question during the IGP season; and (4) a play-off where necessary to separate significant positions. Otherwise, i.e. where the positions are not otherwise significant, such players will be deemed to have finished equal.
For general terms and conditions of entry to Bristol Backgammon tournaments, click here for knock-outs or here for round robins.

The rewards

The player finishing with the most IGP points at the end of the year is IGP champion, and will hold the IGP trophy for twelve months.
The winner and runner-up receive engraved mementoes and -- if the IGP prize fund is large enough -- small cash prizes.
As a bonus to the overall Intermediate Grand Prix prizes, any players scoring 200 points or more over the season will be allotted Premier Status, enabling life membership of the Bristol Premier League, starting from the year immediately following the IGP season in question.

Historical rule changes


Clock rules introduced for all tournaments except the Intermediates Trophy.


"Top two" qualification for Premier Status changed to a points based reward, and a further revision of round robin formats.


This was the final year before a revision of the round robin formats.


This was the final year where Lesters events did not have a Round Robin option for fewer than eight players.


This was the last year before the deduction of administration expenses.


Only year of inclusion of Handicap Knock-outs. Final year of single flight Lesters Trophy competitions, pending an experimental period. Final year before inclusion of Intermediate Trophy.


Final year before introduction of Handicap Knock-outs to the OGP.
10 consolation win points were 5, 5 and 10, as opposed to the current 5, 10 and 15.


Rules identical to those for 2004.


This was the last year when four of the "non-Lesters" events carried a 5 entry fee, the other four being 10.
And the number of Lesters Trophy events was raised from the traditional three to four.
Only 10 bonus points were available for victories over all Premier players, since at that time there was only one division in the Premier League.

2000 and 2001

The competition consisted only of four designated IGP tournaments, with the best three scores counting for each player.
These events were each subject to a 5 entry fee.
Main flight matches were to 7 points (including the final), unless there were more than sixteen entries, in which case they were to 5 points.

Back to Bristol Intermediate GP home page
Current IGP positions
IGP history